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Juan Fernandez-Barquin 
Clerk of the Court and Comptroller 

Miami-Dade County, Florida 
Recommended Processes for Domesticating a Foreign Judgment under Chapter 55 of the Florida 
Statutes in the Eleventh Judicial Circuit: 

1. Submit a certified or exemplified copy of the Final Order of Judgment, along with a copy. If 
the judgment is from a foreign country, provide an English translation of the judgment. The 
translation must include the judgment amount in US Currency. 

2. Submit an original, notarized affidavit, along with a copy, for filing. The affidavit must set 
forth the name and last known post office address of the judgment creditor and judgment 
debtor. The affidavit must also include the name and address of the attorney or individual 
domesticating the foreign judgment. 

3. The enforcement of the foreign judgment is jurisdictional. The amount of the judgment 
determines which court the domestication will be filed in. A judgment in excess of $50,000.00 
will be filed in Circuit Court, whereas a judgment less than $50,000.00 will be filed in County 
Court. 

The appropriate filing fees as provided below must be paid to the Clerk of the Court and 
Comptroller. 

A. Base Filing Fee- based on the amount of the judgment: 
 

a. Each claim less than $ 100.00 $55.00 
b. Each claim of $ 100.00 or more but not more than $500.00 $80.00 
c. Each claim more than $ 500.00 but not more than $ 2,500.00 $175.00 
d. Each claim more than $2,500.00 but not more than $8,000.00 $300.00 
e. All claims more than $8,000.00 but not more than $15,000.00 $300.00 
f. All claims more than $15,000.00 but not more than $30,000.00 $400.00 
g. All claims more than $30,000.00 but not more than $50,000.00 $400.00 

 
B. Recording Fee- this per page fee is determined by the number of pages for each document. 

The affidavit and the judgment are separate documents. For recording purposes, a 3x3 inch 
space is required at the top right corner of the first page to each document. There is an 
additional charge of $8.50 for any document not providing this space. 
Recording fees are: 

 
First page of each document $10.00 
Each additional page $8.50 

 
 

C. Preparation of Notice Fee- after the judgment and the affidavit are recorded, the clerk shall 
prepare and mail (by registered mail) a Notice of Recording of Foreign Judgment. 

 

Notice of Recording Preparation $42.00 
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D. Postage Fee- this fee covers the cost of the registered mailing of the Notice of Recording of 
the Foreign Judgment. This fee applies to each judgment debtor address as set forth in the 
affidavit. 

 
Registered Mail Fee Current USPS Rate 

 
Upon receipt of the appropriate documents and fees, the Clerk of the Court and Comptroller will record the 
documents and mail out the Notice of Recording. The attorney or individual domesticating the judgment 
will receive a courtesy copy of the recorded notice, provided a postage paid return envelope was submitted. 

For more detailed information, please refer to Florida Statues 55.501 through 55.509 (Florida Enforcement 
of Foreign Judgments Act). 
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